Rice UniversityRiceBoniuk Home

Meet the Directors


Elaine Howard Ecklund


ElaineElaine Howard Ecklund joined the Boniuk Institute in September 2013. She is the Herbert S. Autrey Chair Professor of Sociology and Director of The Religion and Public Life Program at Rice University, where she is also a Rice Scholar at the Baker Institute for Public Policy. An expert on institutional change, Ecklund is a sociologist who examines how individuals bring changes to religious and scientific institutions. 

Office: Sewall Hall, Room 372
Phone: 713-348-6761
Email: ehe@rice.edu



Donald Morrison


Don_MorrisonDonald Morrison joined the Boniuk Institute in September 2013.  He is also a Professor of Philosophy and Classical Studies at Rice University.

Office: Humanities Building, Room 204
Phone: 713-348-2714
Email: donaldm@rice.edu






Mike Pardee

Associate Director for Community Engagement

Mike Pardee DownloadPrior to joining The Boniuk Institute for the Study and Advancement of Religious Tolerance as Associate Director for Community Engagement, Rice University’s Mike Pardee was Director of Character Education at The Kinkaid School in Houston, Texas. Pardee holds an M.A. in Educational Administration from Columbia Teachers College, an M.A. in American Studies from Boston University, and an A.B. in English from Princeton.  

Office: Fondren Library, Room 420
Phone: 713-348-2222
Email: mpardee@rice.edu

Laura Johnson

Associate Director of Operations

Laura(2)Laura Johnson joined the Boniuk Institute in November 2013.  

Office: Fondren Library, Room 507
Phone: 713-348-2748
Email: laura.m.johnson@rice.edu